SUMMER SCHOOL "ASTRONOMICAL OBSERVATION" FOR THE TEACHER TRAINING COURSES AT HE HAUTE-PROVENCE OBSERVATORY

This summer school is intended in priority to college and high-schools teachers who know a basic astromnomy and want to initiate themselves to research works completed by the astronomers, and to the organizers supervising young people during the stays of initiation to the astronomical practice. The summer school is held at the Haute-Provence Observatory.

For the beginners, we propose another summer school of initiation to the various astronomic themes which takes place at the Observatory de Haute-Provence. For more information or inscription, click here.

INTRODUCTION

As a part of the teaching program of the UFE (Unité Formation Enseignement), the Observatory of Paris (Institut de Mécanique Céleste) with the Observatory of Haute-Provence organizes in August, a stay of one week at the Haute-Provence Observatory. The aim of this stay is to allow high-school teachers who followed training courses of the UFE at the Paris Observatory to complement their training by an initiation to the current techniques and methods of observation. They will be able, thereafter, to animate themselves training courses with their classes in centres of astronomy receiving the pupils. We can observe all kinds of objects of the sky, but we will insist on the study of the solar system objects and their movement and stars spectroscopic observation.

This document provides general information about the observations which are carried out there and on the Haute-Provence Observatory and the used instruments. Astronomers ensure the supervision of this summer school.

For any further information please contact :

    par courrier : Institut de mécanique céleste
École d'été
Jean-Eudes Arlot
77 avenue Denfert-Rochereau
F-75014 Paris
 
  By mail :
 
  By phone : J.E. Arlot  : +33(0)1 40 51 22 67
  NOTA: Part of this document is founded on the information given by the Guide Pratique de l'OHP.

PRESENTATION OF THE HAUTE-PROVENCE OBSERVATORY

The Observatory of Haute-Provence (OHP) is situated at 2 km in the north of the village of Saint Michel-l'Observatoire and at 12 km of Forcalquier (the Alps of Haute-Provence), at an altitude of 650 meters on a oak wooded plateau. Its construction, decided in November 1936 by a committee chaired by the physicist J Perrin, start in 1937. The 0,80m telescope was the first instrument installed on the site, and it is in 1958 that the 1,93m telescope operates, it was the biggest telescope on the national territory. The development of the main European observatories (the ESO in Chile) or international (the CFH in Hawaii), in sites of high altitude and good quality of transparency and stability of the atmosphere transformed the role of the national observatories such as the OHP. The OHP gives the access to several instruments of excellent quality supported by a consequent infrastructure giving it a complement role of the distant main observatories. It is a well adapted site to carry out, in particular, long-term works such as astrometry. The images are of average quality but the number of usable nights is rather high.

The OHP lodges a scientific group composed of J.P. Sivan (head of the OHP), A. Labeyrie, C. Chevalier, D. Gillet, S. Ilovaisky, Ph. Véron and M.-P. Véron-Cetty. It is composed of administrative services (administration, missions and library) and of engineering departments (optics, mechanics, electronics, detectors, maintenance of the telescopes). The whole of these services gathers approximately 70 people.

The OHP (see observatory plan) is a mission observatory, it thus provides to the astronomers on mission of observation several essential services. Lodging is carried out on the site in the premises of the Maison Jean Perrin where are available double or single rooms, and common premises for the meals. A dome assistant is affected to each telescope used by the astronomers on mission; his role is in particular to take care of the handling of the instrument (pointing and follow-up of the objects) and of the implementation of the detector if it is about the OHP instrumentation. He has authority to control the compatibility of the use of the instrument with the safety requirements.
 

THE SUMMER SCHOOL ORGANIZATION

The trainees are lodged on the spot and the sessions of observation proceed each night from sunset time... to daybreak if the weather allows it. We have 3 different telescopes equipped with cooled CCD detectors. Each night the trainees are divided by groups of 4 per telescope and are brought to take part in various kind of image acquisition. The afternoon, according to wishes' of the trainees, the conference-workshops take place from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.

The observers have additional laboratories adjoined to the domes and from which the acquisition of the data is carried out. The handling of the receivers and the telescopes is under the responsibility of a dome assistant. However the telescopes are at the outside temperature and it is useful to have hot cloths even in August... In addition, any external light is banished from the observatory and it is advisable to have a flashlight to be able to circulate from one building to another during the night (access to the domes, the library, the restaurant and the rooms).
 

USEFUL INFORMATIONS

Access to the OHP

The OHP is located at 2 km in the north of the village of Saint-Michel-L'Observatoire in the Alps of Haute-Provence (04). It is situated 20 km of Manosque, 30 km of Apt (Vaucluse), 80 km of Avignon and 100 km of Marseilles (see map 1 - region and map 2 - OHP surroundings). Map 1 is extracted from the map of Michelin 919 "France-Sud" in 1/1000 000 and map 2 is extracted from IGN map in 1/100 000.

Accees by road :

 From the valley of the Rhone: nationale 7 or motorway A7 then D22 near Avignon (Apt direction), then N100. 30 km after Apt, take the direction Saint-Michel-l' Observatory on the left

 From Marseille :

 Take the direction of Aix-en-Provence then the N96 or the motorway A51 towards Sisteron. In Manosque take the direction of Apt by the D907. At 10 km of Manosque, take the D105 on the right towards Saint-Michael l'Observatoire.

 Access by train :

 The OHP is close to the stations of Avignon (80 km), Aix-en-Provence TGV (90 km) and Manosque (20 km). We recommend for the trainees coming from Paris, to take the TGV to Marseilles, then the train or the bus until Manosque. We will wait for you at the station of Manosque to lead you to the observatory.

You can find indicative schedules of these various means of transport hereafter :

Aller: (le lundi 8 août 2005) D=départ  A=arrivée
Paris D (Gare de Lyon)==> Marseille A Marseille D ==> Manosque A
  10:20     13:30     14:13     15:32  
  13:20     16:30     17:11     18:28  
  14:20     17:36     17:52     19:19  
  15:20     18:20     18:50     20:14  


Retour: (le samedi 13 août 2005) D=départ  A=arrivée
Manosque D:Marseille A:Marseille D:Paris A: (Gare de Lyon) 
  10:32    11:50    12:29    15:41 
  15:34    16:49    17:29    20:41 
No guarantee of the shown schedules :
Check by consulting SNCF website:

Telecommunications

The OHP is equipped with a UNIX and PC workstations network that the astronomers on mission can use to communicate and work. The trainees have an access to this network and to Internet.

The principal useful phone numbers are :

Standard:   04 92 70 64 00 
Coupole télescope T80:   04 92 70 64 19 
Coupole télescope T120:   04 92 70 64 20 
Coupole télescope T152:   04 92 70 64 69 
Bibliothèque:   04 92 70 64 86 
Maison Jean Perrin:   04 92 70 64 47 
FAX:   04 92 76 62 95 

TRAINING COURSE INSTRUMENTATION

Three telescopes are used : the telescope of 0.80m the one of 1.52m and the one of 1.20m. These three telescopes are equipped with a CCD (Coupled Charge Device) detector and with an associated computer. This type of detector revealed to be a detector of a great interest for astrometry because of its great sensitivity and its geometrical stability. It allows acquiring images in numerical form that we can thus handle with a computer (PC) thanks to specialized software. For these treatments we use either a software application called Astrol, or the Midas software under Unix of which a detailed documentation is available.

You can find the CCD characteristics and the telescopes (T152cm and T80cm) used at the OHP on the Haute-Provence Observatory website.

TRAINING COURSE PROGRAM

Each trainee will spend at least a night on each of three telescopes and two nights on the telescopes of his(her) choice (we have five complete nights). The program will be as follows :

 Telescope of 80 cm :

This very handy telescope will be used to show how a telescope functions. We will learn what is astronomy with CCD detector and we will initiate to detector preparation, to its confguration and to images acquisition operations. We will train to point particular celestial objects increasingly difficult using the pointing circles and calculations carried out before. We will learn how to identify a stellar field in a "finder" (small auxiliary glasses with large field) and to centre this object in the field of the telescope. The observations could be visual or be done by a very sensitive video camera located at the focus of the telescope. The practice of the observation requires the knowledge of these fundamental operations of observational astronomy which are the telescope pointing and the identification of a field to find the sought object even if its magnitude is low. We will train by observing fields characteristic (stellar clusters, galaxies...) and by seeking certain objects of the solar system (comets, asteroids, planets) visible at that time.

 Telescope of 152 cm :

The 152 cm telescope is equipped with a fibre spectrograph and CCD detector allowing the recording of star spectra. In addition to the stars composition, the spectra also allow to measure radial speeds. Thus the extra-solar planets are detected by the radial speed variation which they produce on their mother-star.

 Telescope of 120 cm:

The observations carried out with this telescope belong to the current research programs. First of all we will learn what is astronomy using a CCD detector and we will initiate to the preparation of the detector, to its parameter setting and the operations of image acquisition. Astrometrical observations will be carried out, in particular the follow-up of asteroids or comets. Measurements will be taken, in particular to find a one night asteroid on the other. We will use Internet accessible tools to prepare, test and exploit the observations of the night. We will initiate to obtain coloured images by the use of filters.

Some information on the observed objects

 Asteroids :

The asteroids are many objects which interest much the astronomers because of their variety, their dynamic and physical characteristics and which can give essential information concerning the origin and the evolution of the solar system. These objects, often visible high speed, present particular phenomena giving access to a very great astrometrical precisions : stellar occultation and rapprochements. These two types of observation could be practised. The asteroids approaching the Earth have very high visible speeds and require particular techniques of observation.

 Comets :

In 1997 we could observe a very active comet, the Hale-Bopp comet. If the observation of a very brilliant comet is rare, many comets are however observable each year and research and observation of the movement of these comets compared to the star field will be carried out.

 Double stars, star cluster, nebulas, galaxies :

To carry out useful astrometrical observations, it is necessary to know the geometry of the CCD target. For that it is possible to carry out the acquisition of known stellar fields images, well measured by other astrometrical instruments. One can use for that the double star or globular clusters observation. The difficulty often lies in the fact of choosing objects of small field calibration (core of globular cluster) near the field of the objects of which we study astrometry.
We proceed to this type of observation of calibration by observing certain double stars and the clusters M13, M67, M53. These observations should enable us to determine target constants useful for the astrometrical reduction of any other object. We will discover also a very large variety of objects, double and triple stars, stellar clusters, planetary nebulas and galaxies.

 Close stars :

The close stars characteristic will be observed using the spectrograph to detect their components by the analysis of the light and the description of the absorption and emission lines.

CONFERENCES-WORKSHOPS

The afternoon conference-workshops will take place if the trainees are not too much tired by the night observations... or if it rains (it is unfortunately possible, even if the climate of Provence is in general favourable to the astronomers). The proposed topics will be among the followings :
- astronomical coordinates, equatorial, horizontal, ecliptic, hours, sideral time
- distances in astronomy, the solar system dynamic, relativity
- astronomical time scales and calendars
- occultations in the solar system
- the solar system, use of CD Rom of the solar system exploration
- the spectroscopy, radial velocity of stars
- telescopes and astronomical instrumentation
- the Venus transit - historic aspect - and calulation of astronomical unity
 

BIBLIOGRAPHY - to look further into the techniques used during the training course

Several works or articles allow obtaining general information on the solar system objects, astrometry, or the CCD techniques of observation and analysis :

"beginners" level :
Le passage de Vénus, EDP Sciences, 2004
Les éclipses de Soleil, EDP Sciences, 1999
Guide de données astronomiques pour 2005, EDP Sciences, 2004
Le Grand Livre du Ciel, Bordas, 1999
Dictionnaire de l´astronomie, Ph. de la Cotardière, Larousse

"professional" level :
Buil, Ch.: 1990, CCD Astronomy, William-Bell Inc.
Chiu, H.Y, Warasila, R.L., Remo, J.L.: Stellar astronomy,Vol. 1, Gordon and Breach
Encrenaz, Th., Bibring, J.P.: 1989, Le système solaire, Inter Editions, Edition du CNRS.
Gordon Walker: 1987, Astronomical Observations, Cambridge University Press.
Green, R.M.: Spherical astronomy, Cambridge Univ. Press
Kovalevsky, J.: Astrométrie moderne, Lectures notes in physics, Springer Verlag
Léna, P.: 1996, Astrophysique, Méthodes physiques de l´observation, Inter Editions, Edition du CNRS.
Van de Kamp, P.: Principle of Astrometry, Freeman and Co., San Francisco

REGISTRATION AND FEES

This training course is reserved to the teachers of secondary school and colleges whose lessons include an initiation to astronomy and celestial mechanics. The registrations will be made at the Unité Formation Enseignement (UFE) of Paris observatory. They can also be done by writing a cover letter and by returning this form at the mentioned address in the beginning of this document.

The contribution to the fees is of 50 € per person. The accomodation for the five nights stay in complete pension is of 275 € in single room and 230 € in double room.
Caution, the training course of 2005 will be quickly complete and you can as from now book a place for this training (dates : August 8-13 2005) by returning the pre-registration form.
 

PREVIOUS TRAINING COURSES REPORT (in french)

On trouvera ci-après un lien sur le compte rendu des l´écoles d´été qui se sont déroulées jusqu'à présent :

CONTACT

For all information concerning these pages, please contact from the IMCCE and the Observatoire de Paris.

Caution : This Website was created with the Ministère de l'Education Nationale, the CNRS and the CNES support. Any use of the data published on this website requires the IMCCE agreement..

ÉCOLE D'ÉTÉ "OBSERVATION ASTRONOMIQUE" POUR LA FORMATION DES MAÎTRES À L´OBSERVATOIRE DE HAUTE-PROVENCE

Cette école est destinée en priorité aux enseignants des lycées et collèges ayant déjà quelques notions d'astronomie et désireux de s´initier aux travaux de recherche réalisés par les astronomes, ainsi qu´aux animateurs encadrant des jeunes lors de séjours d´initiation à la pratique astronomique. Elle se déroule à l´Observatoire de Haute-Provence.

Pour les débutants n'ayant aucune notion d'astronomie, nous proposons une autre école d'été d'initiation et qui a lieu également à l'observatoire de Haute-Provence. Pour plus d'information ou pour vous inscrire, cliquez ici.

INTRODUCTION

Dans le cadre des enseignements de l´UFE (Unité Formation Enseignement), l´observatoire de Paris (Institut de Mécanique céleste), en partenariat avec l'observatoire de Haute-Provence, organise un séjour à l´Observatoire de Haute-Provence d´une durée d´une semaine au mois d´août. Le but de ce séjour est de permettre à des enseignants du secondaire de compléter leur formation par une initiation aux techniques et méthodes d´observation actuelles. Ils pourront animer eux-mêmes par la suite, s'ils le souhaitent, des stages avec leurs classes dans des centres d´astronomie accueillant les élèves. On y observera toutes sortes d´objets du ciel mais on insistera sur l´étude des objets du système solaire (et de leur mouvement), ainsi que sur l'observation spectroscopique des étoiles.

Le présent document donne des informations générales sur les observations qui y sont réalisées, sur l´Observatoire de Haute-Provence et sur les instruments qui sont utilisés. Des astronomes assurent l´encadrement de cette école d´été.

Pour tout renseignement complémentaire contacter:

    par courrier : Institut de mécanique céleste
École d'été
Jean-Eudes Arlot
77 avenue Denfert-Rochereau
F-75014 Paris
 
  par message électronique :
 
  par téléphone : J.E. Arlot  : +33(0)1 40 51 22 67
  NOTA: Une partie de ce document est fondée sur les informations données par le Guide Pratique de l´OHP.

PRÉSENTATION DE L´OBSERVATOIRE DE HAUTE-PROVENCE

L´Observatoire de Haute-Provence (OHP) est situé à 2 km au nord du village de Saint Michel-l´Observatoire et à 12 km de Forcalquier (Alpes de Haute-Provence), à une altitude de 650 mètres sur un plateau boisé de petits chênes. Sa construction, décidée en novembre 1936 par un comité présidé par le physicien J. Perrin, débuta en 1937. Le télescope de 80 cm fut le premier instrument installé sur le site, et c´est en 1958 qu´entra en service le télescope de 1,93m qui fut le plus grand télescope sur le territoire national. Le développement des grands observatoires européens (l´ESO au Chili) ou internationaux (le CFH à Hawaï), dans des sites d´altitude élevée et de bonne qualité de transparence et de stabilité de l´atmosphère, ont transformé le rôle des observatoires nationaux du type de l´OHP. L´OHP donne l´ accès à plusieurs instruments d´excellente qualité appuyés par une infrastructure conséquente lui donnant un rôle de complément des grands observatoires éloignés. C´est un site bien adapté pour mener, en particulier, des travaux de longue haleine comme les travaux d´astrométrie. Les images sont de qualité moyenne mais le nombre de nuits utilisables est assez élevé.

L´OHP héberge un groupe scientifique composé de M. Boer (directeur de l´OHP), A. Labeyrie, D. Gillet, S. Ilovaisky, Ph. Véron et M.-P. Véron-Cetty. Il est composé de services administratifs (administration, missions, bibliothèque) et de services techniques (optique, mécanique, électronique, récepteurs, maintenance des télescopes). L´ensemble de ces services regroupe environ 70 personnes.

L´OHP (voir plan de l´observatoire) est un observatoire de mission, il fournit donc aux astronomes en mission d´observation plusieurs services indispensables. L´hébergement est réalisé sur le site dans les locaux de la Maison Jean Perrin où sont disponibles des chambres doubles ou individuelles, et des locaux communs pour les repas. Un assistant de coupole est affecté à chaque télescope utilisé par les astronomes en mission; son rôle est en particulier de se charger de la manipulation de l´instrument (pointage et suivi des objets) et de la mise en oeuvre du récepteur s´il s´agit de l´instrumentation de l´OHP. Il a autorité pour contrôler la compatibilité de l´utilisation de l´instrument avec les normes de sécurité.
 

DÉROULEMENT DE l´ÉCOLE D´ÉTÉ

Les stagiaires sont hébergés sur place et les séances d´observation se déroulent chaque nuit du coucher du Soleil...jusqu´à l´aube si le temps le permet. Nous disposons de 3 télescopes différents équipés de récepteurs CCD refroidis. Les stagiaires sont répartis chaque nuit par groupes de 4 par télescope et sont amenés à participer à différents types d´acquisition de donnés;es et d´images. L´après-midi, selon les souhaits des stagiaires, des conférences-ateliers ont lieu de 16 h à 18 h.

Les observateurs disposent de laboratoires annexes aux coupoles à partir desquels on effectue l´acquisition des données. La manipulation des récepteurs et des télescopes est sous la responsabilité d´un assistant de coupole. Cependant les télescopes sont à la température extérieure et il est utile de prévoir des vêtements chauds, même au mois d´août... D´autre part, toute lumière extérieure est bannie de l´observatoire et il est prudent de prévoir une lampe de poche pour pouvoir circuler d´un bâtiment à l´autre durant la nuit (accès aux coupoles, à la bibliothèque, au restaurant et aux chambres).
 

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

 Accès à l´OHP

L´OHP est situé à 2 km au nord du village de Saint-Michel-L´Observatoire dans les alpes de Haute-Provence (04), à 20 km de Manosque, à 30 km d´Apt (Vaucluse), à 80 km d´Avignon et à 100 km de Marseille. (voir carte 1 -région- et carte 2 -environs de l´OHP-). La carte 1 est extraite de la carte Michelin 919 "France-Sud" au 1/1000 000 et la carte 2 est extraite de la carte IGN au 1/100 000.

Accès par route:

 Depuis la vallée du Rhône: nationale 7 ou autoroute A7 puis D22 près d´Avignon (direction Apt), puis N100. 30 km après Apt, prendre la direction Saint-Michel-l´Observatoire sur la gauche.

 Depuis Marseille:

 Prendre la direction d´Aix-en-Provence puis la N96 ou l´autoroute A51 vers Sisteron. A Manosque prendre la direction d´Apt par la D907. A 10 km de Manosque, prendre la D105 sur la droite vers Saint-Michel l´Observatoire.

 Accès par train:

 L´OHP est proche des gares d´Avignon (80 km) et Manosque (20 km). Nous vous recommandons, pour les stagiaires venant de Paris, de prendre le TGV jusqu´à Marseille, puis le train ou le car jusqu´à Manosque. Nous vous attendrons à la gare de Manosque pour vous conduire à l´observatoire.

On trouve des horaires indicatifs de ces différents moyens de transport ci-après:

Aller: (le lundi 8 août 2005) D=départ  A=arrivée
Paris D (Gare de Lyon)==>Marseille A Marseille D ==>Manosque A
  10:20     13:30     14:13     15:32  
  13:20     16:30     17:11     18:28  
  14:20     17:36     17:52     19:19  
  15:20     18:20     18:50     20:14  


Retour: (le samedi 13 août 2005) D=départ  A=arrivée
Manosque D:Marseille A:Marseille D:Paris A: (Gare de Lyon) 
  10:32    11:50    12:29    15:41 
  15:34    16:49    17:29    20:41 
Horaires sous réserve:
vérifier en consultant le serveur de la SNCF:

 Télécommunications

L´OHP est équipé d´un réseau informatique de stations UNIX et de PC, que les astronomes en mission peuvent utiliser pour communiquer et travailler. Les stagiaires disposent d´un accès à ce réseau ainsi qu´à Internet.

Les principaux numéros de téléphone utiles sont:

Standard:   04 92 70 64 00 
Coupole télescope T80:   04 92 70 64 19 
Coupole télescope T120:   04 92 70 64 20 
Coupole télescope T152:   04 92 70 64 69 
Bibliothèque:   04 92 70 64 86 
Maison Jean Perrin:   04 92 70 64 47 
FAX:   04 92 76 62 95 

L´INSTRUMENTATION DU STAGE


Trois télescopes sont utilisés: le télescope celui de 80 cm, celui de 152 cm et celui de 120 cm. Ces trois télescopes sont équipés d´un récepteur CCD (Coupled Charge Device) et d´un ordinateur associé. Ce type de récepteur permet d´acquérir des images sous forme numérique que l´on peut donc manipuler avec un micro ordinateur (PC) grâce à des logiciels spécialisés. Pour ces traitements nous utilisons soit un logiciel spécifique dénommé Prism, soit le logiciel Midas sous Unix, dont une documentation détaillée est disponible.

On trouvera les caractéristiques des CCD et des télescopes ( T152cm et T80cm) utilisés à l´OHP sur le serveur de l´ Observatoire de Haute-Provence.

LE PROGRAMME DU STAGE

Chaque stagiaire passera au moins une nuit sur chacun des trois télescopes et deux nuits sur les télescopes de son choix (nous disposons de cinq nuits complètes). Le programme envisagé sera le suivant:

 Télescope de 80 cm:

Ce télescope, très maniable, sera utilisé pour montrer comment fonctionne un télescope. On apprendra tout d´abord ce qu´est l´astronomie avec un récepteur CCD et on s´initiera à la préparation du récepteur, à son paramétrage et aux opérations d´acquisition des images. On s´exercera aussi à pointer des objets célestes particuliers de plus en plus difficiles à l´aide des cercles de pointage et de calculs réalisés auparavant. On apprendra à identifier un champ stellaire dans un "chercheur" (une petite lunette auxiliaire à grand champ) et à centrer cet objet dans le champ du télescope. Les observations pourront être visuelles ou se faire par l´intermédiaire d´une CCD situé au foyer du télescope. La pratique de l´observation nécessite la connaissance de ces opérations fondamentales de l´astronomie observationelle que sont le pointage du télescope et l´identification d´un champ pour trouver l´objet recherché même si sa magnitude est faible. On s´exercera en observant des champs caractéristiques (amas stellaires, galaxies,...) et en recherchant certains objets du système solaire (comètes, astéroïdes, planètes) visibles à cette époque.
 
 Télescope de 152 cm:

Le télescope de 152 cm est équipé d'un spectrographe à fibre et d'un récepteur CCD permettant l'enregistrement de spectres d'étoiles. Outre la composition des étoiles, les spectres permettent aussi de mesurer des vitesses radiales. C'est ainsi que sont détectées les planètes extrasolaires par la variation de vitesse radiale qu'elles produisent sur leur étoile-mère.

 Télescope de 120 cm:

Les observations réalisées avec ce télescope font partie des programmes de recherche en cours. Des observations astrométriques seront réalisées, en particulier le suivi d´astéroïdes ou de comètes. Des mesures seront effectuées, en particulier pour retrouver un astéroïde d´une nuit sur l´autre. On utilisera les outils accessibles sur Internet pour préparer, tester et exploiter les observations de la nuit. On s´initiera à l´obtention d´images en couleur par l´utilisation de filtres.

 
Quelques informations sur les objets observés

 Astéroïdes:

Les astéroïdes sont des objets nombreux qui intéressent beaucoup les astronomes en raison de leur variété, de leurs caractéristiques dynamiques et physiques et qui peuvent donner des informations essentielles concernant l´origine et l´évolution du système solaire. Ces objets, souvent de vitesse apparente élevée, présentent des phénomènes particuliers donnant accès à des précisions astrométriques très grandes: les occultations stellaires et les rapprochements stellaires. Ces deux types d´observation pourront être pratiquées. Les astéroïdes se rapprochant de la Terre (les géocroiseurs) présentent des vitesses apparentes très élevées et nécessitent des techniques d´observation particulières.

 Comètes:

En 1997 on a pu observer une comète très active, la comète Hale-Bopp. Si l´observation d´une comète très brillante est rare, de nombreuses comètes sont cependant observables chaque année: la recherche et l´observation du mouvement de ces comètes par rapport au champ d´étoiles sera effectuée.

 Étoiles doubles, amas d´étoiles, nébuleuses, galaxies:

Le ciel recèle un grand nombre d'objets intéressants et nous nous appliquerons à réaliser des images de ces objets en fonction de la qualité du ciel. Nous réaliserons des images du ciel profond en profitant de l'absence de la Lune ainsi que des images en couleur en utilisant un jeu de filtres bien choisis.
Nous découvrirons aussi une très grande variété d´objets, étoiles doubles, triples, amas stellaires, nébuleuses planétaires et galaxies.

 Étoiles proches:

Les étoiles proches caractéristiques seront observées à l'aide du spectrographe pour en détecter les composants par l'analyse de la lumière et la mise en évidence des raies d'émission et d'absorption.

CONFERENCES-ATELIERS

Les après-midi, des conférences-ateliers pourront avoir lieu si les stagiaires ne sont pas trop fatigués par les observations de la nuit... ou si le temps se met à la pluie (c´est malheureusement une éventualité, même si le climat de la Provence est en général favorable aux astronomes). Les thèmes proposés seront parmi les suivants:
- les coordonnées astronomiques, équatoriales, horizontales, écliptiques, horaires, le temps sidéral
- les distances en astronomie, la dynamique du système solaire, la relativité
- les échelles de temps astronomiques et les calendriers
- les occultations dans le système solaire
- le système solaire, utilisation d´un CD Rom d´exploration du système solaire
- la spectroscopie, les vitesses radiales des étoiles
- les télescopes et l'instrumentation astronomique
- le passage de Vénus -aspect historique- et le calcul de l'unité astronomique
 

BIBLIOGRAPHIE pour approfondir les techniques rencontrées au cours du stage

Plusieurs ouvrages ou articles permettent d´obtenir des informations générales sur les objets du système solaire, sur l´astrométrie, ou sur les techniques d´observation et d´analyse CCD:

niveau "débutants":
Le passage de Vénus, EDP Sciences, 2004
Les éclipses de Soleil, EDP Sciences, 1999
Guide de données astronomiques pour 2005, EDP Sciences, 2004
Le Grand Livre du Ciel, Bordas, 1999
Dictionnaire de l´astronomie, Ph. de la Cotardière, Larousse

niveau "professionnel":
Buil, Ch.: 1990, CCD Astronomy, William-Bell Inc.
Chiu, H.Y, Warasila, R.L., Remo, J.L.: Stellar astronomy,Vol. 1, Gordon and Breach
Encrenaz, Th., Bibring, J.P.: 1989, Le système solaire, Inter Editions, Edition du CNRS.
Gordon Walker: 1987, Astronomical Observations, Cambridge University Press.
Green, R.M.: Spherical astronomy, Cambridge Univ. Press
Kovalevsky, J.: Astrométrie moderne, Lectures notes in physics, Springer Verlag
Léna, P.: 1996, Astrophysique, Méthodes physiques de l´observation, Inter Editions, Edition du CNRS.
Van de Kamp, P.: Principle of Astrometry, Freeman and Co., San Francisco
 

INSCRIPTIONS ET PARTICIPATION AUX FRAIS

Ce stage est réservé aux enseignants des lycées et collèges ainsi qu'aux animateurs de clubs d'astronomie. Les inscriptions seront faites à l´Unité Formation Enseignement (UFE) de l´observatoire de Paris. Elles peuvent aussi se faire en écrivant une lettre de motivation et en renvoyant la fiche prévue à cet effet à l´adresse indiquée au début de ce document.

Les frais d'inscription sont de 50 euros par personne. L'hébergement se fait sur place et la participation aux frais demandée pour le séjour de cinq nuits en pension complète est de 275 € en chambre simple et de 230 € en chambre double.
Attention, le stage 2005 sera vite complet et vous pouvez dès maintenant réserver une place pour ce stage (dates: 8-13 août 2005) en renvoyant la fiche de pré-inscription.
 

COMPTE RENDU DES STAGES PRECEDENTS

On trouvera ci-après un lien sur le compte rendu des l´écoles d´été qui se sont déroulées jusqu'à présent :

CONTACT

Pour tous renseignements concernant ces pages, veuillez contacter de l'IMCCE et l'Observatoire de Paris.

Attention : Ce serveur a été mis en place avec l'aide du Ministère de l'Education Nationale, du CNRS et du CNES. Tout usage des données diffusées par ce serveur nécessite l'accord de l'IMCCE.